Thailand

To finalize my winter break travels for 2012 we ended in Thailand.

Sarah and I took our travels to Phuket and Bangkok, this was a tie as my favorite country with Philippines. Yes, it can be a tie because they were two entirely different experiences and trips. We began our experience in Phuket, if I had the opportunity I would for sure go back here, it was amazing place. Full of tourists yet had a unique and different atmosphere than most places, everyone is beyond friendly. If you want to do island hopping this is where its at! Probably had the least amount of time here than any of the other places we went to, if I could do it all over again, spend the same amount of time in Philippines (although I could have spent months there), few less days in Singapore, few less days in Malaysia, and WAY MORE days in Thailand.

First day in Phuket we arrived late at our hotel that was pretty nice and grabbed some dinner at Elephant Cafe, was soooo delicious we ate there twice. Then had the best massage of my life, no joke. I would go back just to get another massage there. One hour full-body Thai massage=AMAZING.

Our 2nd day we went elephant trekking and hung out with monkeys it was soo fun and they were adorable. Paid 700 baht for it each, approx. $23. Then transferred to our other hostel, Cheap Charlies, because it was closer to the beach where everything was happening. I got eaten alive again just on my legs this time. Gotta love REALLY CHEAP hostels, it was one night, we could live. We went shopping down in patong beach area, bought some good souvenirs.

Our last day in Phuket, went to patong beach all day and sunbathed, I got a little burnt on my tummy because I walked along the water for a couple hours and forgot where our chairs were lol. I had an aloe vera bath with the actual leaves it was really cool and obviously felt amazing. Then headed out for Bangkok in the middle of the night.

Bangkok was a great city, my only complaint was I felt as though I was being scammed the entire time I was there. The atmosphere was near opposite of Phuket. Our hostel was beyond great though, we stayed at HQ hostel, was my favorite place our entire trip. The beds were extremely comfy and rooms were AC controlled. Restrooms were decent and the common room was great. Movies, video games, and computers for anyones use. They also provided booking all kinds of tours around Bangkok. I ended up doing the Floating Market tour.

Sarah and I sort of split ways in Bangkok, Jordan was joining up with her because I was heading back to the states for a few weeks and she continued on her travels through Cambodia and Vietnam I believe. So our first day we spent together going to different palaces and having people attempt to scam us all day, was real fun! In all honesty it was a great day got to see a bunch of different sights but was annoying people trying to take advantage of us for being Americans/white. Our day was slightly interrupted by a torrential downpour.

Our 2nd day we split ways and that was when I did my floating market tour. Floating markets is famous, essentially it is a long boat floating down a small river and people selling all kinds of things along the shore. This was one of the last location my shopping sprees took place. The rest of the tour included elephant trekking, a small lunch and a snake show (which was one of the most frightening/interesting things ever). Overall, was really happy with my experience and wish I had more time for other tours. Was able to make some German, Australian, and Argentina friends from our hostel, and went out with them to the most famous road in Thailand, Kao Shan Rd. This road is full of the “Chinese” style markets and clubs and bars EVERYWHERE! I will say I finished my trip out with one final bang, and pulled an all nighter, as my flight was at 8am and had to be at the airport at 6am.

The finalization of my 2 month excursion ended in good ole’ Iowa with family and friends. Thanks to all that made my Chinese New Year 2012 a memorable one:)

Update on the last month in China will be coming soon, stay tuned.

D. WHITE

Again, if you want to see photos check out Facebook as I have hit my limit on this blog.

About Danielle White

My name is Danielle White from Bettendorf, IA. I graduated from Drake University in Des Moines with a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration. I recently returned from teaching Journalism, Advertising, and Broadcasting classes at Sichuan International Studies University in Chongqing, China from June 2011-July 2012 I am currently doing freelance work in social media management and dabbling in website construction.
This entry was posted in Travel outside China. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

