FOUR MONTHS!!!!

Alright, well I’ve officially been in China for 4 months now…..somedays it seems as though it should be a lot longer amount of time, but most days its incredible to think how fast time has flown by. I am finishing up my first semester teaching and getting ready to take all I have learned in this great country on the road with me. In 4 days my brother is coming to China to help celebrate Christmas and New Years with me the right way.

We will be exploring a little of the Chongqing Ive come to know and love these last four months, then head off to Guangzhou where we can explore together a city of new and unknown to us both. We will finalize our American holiday traveling in Hong Kong and Macau. Its crazy as I am coming to the realization that China is as though a 2nd home to me.

Here is a little taste of my teaching life; I asked my students to tell me what their ideal job was? To describe the job? Why they wanted the job? Their plans on getting that job?

This was a response from my student Coffee, this was among the best answers I received:

“Not too tired in the job, but has high salary. No need to get to work everyday, for more free time. The work place shouldn’t be too far from home.

– Because I dont like paying much time in work, but efficiency.

– Because I want to go back home frequently to spend my family time.

– Because I need money to raise family

But I know, no pains, no gains. SO I have to work hard to get a job. My plans to get some degree, some qualifications, for these are the knocking-door elements to get in a job. Calculate all kinds of knowledge’s but particular in one, for even if you get in the job, the most important is what you have in mind and hands.”

(YOU AND ME BOTH SISTER) Man I suppose she knows what she wants but for real, if I find that job I WONT LET GO!!

Here is a taste of the city I keep talking about and am beginning to call home. A few of the expats I hang out with here sang this, Enjoy!

Although majority of our plans are not official for the rest of the Chinese New Year, my brother is departing Hong Kong on January 3rd. My friend Sarah will be joining up with us a little before the actual New Year, and from Hong Kong making our way down to Manila, Philippines.

As some may have heard Manila was just hit with a tropical storm and hundreds of people have died,  so looking as it now may shorten our time in the country. Our plans in terms of traveling is Philippines, Singapore, Malyasia, and on up to Thailand. All squeezed into 1 month, as I am lucky enough to make the travel back home for 3 weeks. I will get to satisfy those cravings for certain food (MEXICAN!!), certain American customs, and last but certainly not least friends and family:)

I do plan on do at least 1 blog post on the travels I am fortunate enough to take part in, if you are lucky enough maybe even 2 posts:)

Take care til next time…

D. White

About Danielle White

My name is Danielle White from Bettendorf, IA. I graduated from Drake University in Des Moines with a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration. I recently returned from teaching Journalism, Advertising, and Broadcasting classes at Sichuan International Studies University in Chongqing, China from June 2011-July 2012 I am currently doing freelance work in social media management and dabbling in website construction.
This entry was posted in China, Chongqing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to FOUR MONTHS!!!!

  1. Jeff White says:

    As always great post and enjoy having you keep us updated! Love Dad

Leave a Reply

