Teaching struggles

What has come in gone in past week since my birthday…

Ryan’s 23rd Birthday was last Wednesday where we celebrated at a delicious Italian restaurant called Nova in Nanping District some of the best pizza I have ever had and cheap at that, thats what I call a winning deal. Our new friends Tyler (from MO) and Fran (from Italy) were there as well as the whole Drake clan. We then took our party to Da Rasta, Tyler’s bar and hung out there for the night.

This weekend was a bit low key just did the usual exploring of Chongqing into Jei Fa Bei (the Downtown District), and Nanping Districts. Found quite the jewel in Shapingba, two DVD stores bought 17 new movies most of which are new and yes they work with premier quality I might add, would mistake for a US DVD. Better part they approximately $1.50 per movie yes you guessed it, I will be coming home with lots of movies lol.

This week will be my first “full” week of class, I have already made it through the “tough” part Monday….I have three classes on Journalism so basically teach the same thing 3 consecutive times for a total of 6 hours, I now officially feel sorry for teachers who do this on a day to day basis….You begin to forget what examples you use from class to class and may say a thing or two that doesn’t make sense (oh well they don’t entirely understand me anyways right?). Or at least that’s what I tell myself to help me get through my classes….Then my week gets a lot easier with my advertising class today, Tuesday, for two hours and the same thing all over again Friday. The exciting news is I only have two more Friday classes to teach for the semester then my traveling kicks off.

I will fully admit the whole teaching thing I hated right off the bat, was very questionable on whether I could even stick out for a whole year, but I took a step back reevaluated the situation I was in, and decided to see how I felt once October rolled around and I had at least taught a few classes in each subject. As my mom would say I was never one for much change in my life, I think that was the underlying issue?

So far I am still getting the hang of the lesson planning and teaching but I have found that a key issue is talking to myself for 2 hours….it does make it even more difficult to teach as my students are no where near fluent in English. The process of actually beginning to learn my students names and faces has made the teaching aspect a lot more fun as well, especially when they are sooo excited to see you out on the street and chat up a conversation with you about ANYTHING…

I am looking at this year as more of a challenge and learning experience, this can open so many doors for me and will really help me grow as a person. Plus on the bright side I do have a lot of free time on my hands, I just have been figuring out what I want to fill that time with. So far that decision has been working out (cant escape it when you live on the side of mountain), learning Mandarin, and exploring the city I call home for a year.

T-minus 2 weeks till National Day aka 1 week break and first trip out of Chongqing…Destination still TBD…

Till next time

D. White

About Danielle White

My name is Danielle White from Bettendorf, IA. I graduated from Drake University in Des Moines with a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration. I recently returned from teaching Journalism, Advertising, and Broadcasting classes at Sichuan International Studies University in Chongqing, China from June 2011-July 2012 I am currently doing freelance work in social media management and dabbling in website construction.
This entry was posted in Chongqing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Teaching struggles

  1. Chestnut says:

    Wait, so you’re only going to be teaching 2 days a week? Monday and Tuesday?! Not fair! I have 8 classes from Tuesday-Friday! Bu hao.

    • Hahaha yep:) Only two days a week, but right now three days a week if that makes you feel any better? But also keep in mind Im at a university you are at a middle school correct? Your students need more attention than mine. I have 8 credit hours thats close to 8 classes right? 🙂

  2. emilykrst says:

    I have 24 classes Monday-Friday, poop on both of you

Leave a Reply

