Birthday Extravaganza

My birthday post only a couple weeks late…

Began as good as any other birthday…I woke up to Angela and Linda at my door with a traditional Chinese birthday cake and a couple gifts. Angela and Linda are two Chinese friends I have made in my week of being here. Angela gave me a homemade necklace from her national heritage, and Linda gave me a cool Tea Cup which I was in dire need of. I then went about my usual day in the internet cafe and around dinner time met back up with everyone to head to Ci Qi Kou an old ancient town.

We walked around and ate down there for dinner and then made our way to a local bar “ Frog Bar” a quaint little bar, where we did karaoke for a few hours.

Then Sean and I proceeded to go downtown to an expat bar (where all the foreigners go) for all you Drake people the Chongqing “Dublin”…. Met some French people and hung out with them the rest of the night. Overall, what I would call a successful birthday….My Saturday would disagree with you, was hurting a little but hey was bound to happen sooner or later right?

Since my birthday, I have observed a total of 5 classes and taught 2 classes. Each class is 2 periods of 45 minutes. Monday afternoon classes of our first week were cancelled due to the heat, yes quite the opposite of Iowa instead of snow cancellations its heat, I believe it reached 111 F that day (not counting humidity). Then my Friday classes were cancelled to get our Medical Exams completed to apply for our Residency permits and visas. America could really use a lesson or two on the process of our Medical Exam it was by far the most efficient and smoothest process I have gone through…you were essentially on an assembly line going from doctor to doctor to have your respective tests done.

This weekend I believe we discovered our hangout for the year, called Da Rasta. Its the one and only reggae bar in Chongqing possibly even China. Its owned by a Chinese women and a guy named Tyler from Missouri. Yes, you guessed it another expat bar but more of a relaxed atmosphere and fun things scheduled throughout the week to partake in such as Trivia Night, All you can eat BBQ, Beer Olympics, so on and so forth….ooh and I cant forget to mention Ryan started bartending there…So as you can tell I think we are set for a good time there almost any night.

This weekend was also the first holiday, Mid-Autumn Festival, the closest thing Ive decided to compare it to in terms of American holidays is Thanksgiving. It was described to me as a time when families get together and eat lots of traditional Chinese food. Here in China they take there holidays seriously….it definitely feels like China during a holiday, way more people outside, traffic is beyond terrible, and everything goes up in price a little. What I found to be the best part of the holiday is no class on Monday:)

Birthday Pictures

Till next time

D. White

About Danielle White

My name is Danielle White from Bettendorf, IA. I graduated from Drake University in Des Moines with a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration. I recently returned from teaching Journalism, Advertising, and Broadcasting classes at Sichuan International Studies University in Chongqing, China from June 2011-July 2012 I am currently doing freelance work in social media management and dabbling in website construction.
This entry was posted in Chongqing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Birthday Extravaganza

  1. Alysse Marie says:

    Danielle, that sounds like so, so much fun, and I wish I could see these new hangouts you’re finding. 🙂 And oh my gosh, I can’t wait to hear more about your classes—what an awesome experience, though I can imagine it’s pretty terrifying to be in charge of people basically only like 2 years younger than us! I’m sure they really like you. 🙂
    Also, the Lion King is coming out in 3D, which I think is one of the only movies you’re currently missing—I haven’t seen it but it looks pretty cool! I will keep you updated on other movies I attend. You can probably see them before me anyway because they have so many people selling those super cheap movie DVDs haha. Or is that just a thing I hear that’s not actually true of China?
    Well I hope you have a great day and a great week—I miss you in the US! I might come visit Sarah (leaning more toward a yes than a no—though DAMN is it expensive) so I will let you know if I do!!
    Miss you!!

    • Hey Alysse,
      Yeah I be sure to take pictures of the places we are hanging out in, so you can get more of feel for it. Also, posted a new post 10 minutes ago talking about my first week of teaching so be sure to check that out! Im just glad someone is reading my posts other than family lol….are you having trouble not editing all the mistakes you find when reading 🙂

      I am able to find cheap DVD’s here Lion King is not quite out though, when it comes out I will be sure to purchase that one. Also, if you come to visit that would be awesome! I could use seeing some familiar faces and yes expensive that it is…especially getting to guilin (very small city) but I hear its beautiful and so worth the trip. I was going to try to make it down there for the first time in late october and then of course again when/if you come.

      Miss you lots and keep in touch!

Leave a Reply

